Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Recipes

I love to cook, but I am not a fan of heating up house on a 90 degree day in order to do so. This inspired my Top Ten Tuesday at Oh Amanda! for this week 😀 Click the link and join the fun!

Top Ten Summer Recipes:

1. Apple Pie in the Crock Pot : It turns out a little more cobbler like than pie like, but it is super yummy and you don’t have to turn the oven on.

2. Grilled Pineapple with butterscotch sauce: The sauce is a mixture of butter, heavy cream, and brown sugar with a dash of vanilla and salt. Spread it over grilled pineapple slices and serve with vanilla ice cream for a really decadent dessert.

3. Grilled Veggie Skewers: soak your skewer sticks and then stab your veggies of choice. My favorites are peppers, onions, and zucchini

4. BBQ Glaze Salmon – I make them on the grill instead of in a 425 degree oven.

5. Strawberry Shortcakes: Simple mixture of strawberries (and other berries) with angel food cake and home made whipped cream.

6. Misty Melon Cooler: I am usually not a fan of cantaloupe but I love this nice frosty drink. I also make it with lo fat yogurt and ice if I am caring about calories that day.

7. Crockpot Granola: PERFECT for on the go, on top of yogurt, and you can use more honey to mold them into bars if you want granola bars on the way to go. I tend to up the flax seed and the honey amount in the recipe. I also have to cook on low and stir a lot so it won’t stick and burn. I also like to add Crasins, and dried pomegranate to mine.

8. Fox Point Green Beans: Foxtrot is a spice that I buy from Penzy’s and am in LOVE with it. I simply boil fresh green beans until “tender crisp” and then add just a few drops of olive oil, finishing salt, and the Fox Point spice. I had never touched green beans since childhood and when a friend brought these for Thanksgiving, I was HOOKED.

9. Sugar Free Gummi worms/bears: I don’t have a mold but we have used other candy molds and they have turned out okay. I am a little worried about the possible dyes in Jell-O, but haven’t researched it yet. I will be though before we make these again.

10. Fruit Salad: It’s easy and simple but it is one of our favorites. I just cut up all sorts of fresh fruit, put it in a bowl, and hand out plates. Our most recent favorite combo is strawberries, bananas, Cutie orange slices, blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries. I also will put out some low fat yogurt for dipping and get some protein into them.

Thanks for checking out my Top Ten Tuesday!

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Recipes”

  1. Betsy Says:

    Crock pots are awesome for the summer, but I never used mine, so I sold it. Microwave and toaster oven are great for summer too. Here from Top Ten.

  2. oh amanda Says:

    OK, yum. That pineapple sounds amazing. And I forgot about Penzy’s I’ve never been but we used to have one right next to our house. I’m going to check it out!

  3. Tweets that mention Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Recipes « Mommy the Maid -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by oh amanda, triciacallahan. triciacallahan said: I love these! RT @oohamanda: Really great list of don't-turn-on-your-oven-but-still-eat-good recipes http://bit.ly/al5M5L #totentues […]

  4. mainlinemom Says:

    Yum, sounds delicious! Now I am inspired to grill tonight 🙂

  5. bigbinder Says:

    Awesome!! I hate heating up my oven too. What does the Foxtrot taste like? We ran out of Tastefully Simple seasoning and I refuse to pay $8 a bottle and $7 to have it shipped.. but we need something.

  6. Grace Says:

    Mmmmm…I’m gonna have to try #2! I’ve never even heard of that! but it sounds amazing!

  7. Terri Says:

    I will definitely be trying a couple of the crock pot recipes. Oh, and I love veggie skewers too. Yum.

Leave a Reply

